1. Metabolomics Across the Food System

    Sep 2, 2020

    Dr. Rachel Kopec is associated with the following NIFA National Needs Grant Metabolomics Across the Food System


    Please see the following website for more information



  2. Registration for the Russell Klein Symposium

    Feb 12, 2020

    RegistratIon is going on for the Russell Klein Memorial Nutrition Research Symposium being helf on March 31, 2020 at the Nationwide & Ohio Farm Bureau 4-H Center.  Abstracts are currently being accepted until February 14, 2020.

    If you are submitting an abstract, please read the below details regarding abstract and oral presentation competition submissions:


  3. USDA NIFA National Needs Fellowship Program

    Jun 20, 2019

    These four OSUN faculty members are affiliated with a USDA NIFA National Needs Fellowship.

    Dr. Martha Belury, Ph.D., RD, Program Chair, Human Nutrition

    Dr. Steven Clinton, MD, Ph.D., Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Dr. Ken Lee, Ph.D., Professor of Food Science and Director of Food Innovation Center (FIC)

    Dr. Yael Vodovotz, Ph.D., Professor of Food Science and Director of the Center for Advance Functional Foods Research and Entrepreneurship (CAFFRE)

  4. Congratulations to Dr. Vin Miller and Dr. Erin Lombardo

    Apr 9, 2019

    Congratulations are in order for Dr. Vin Miller and Dr. Erin Lombardo.  Both individuals recently completed (and passed!) their final exams.


    Vin Miller was advised by Dr. Jeff Volek, committee members were Drs. David Arnold, Frederick Villamena, William Kraemer, and Amanda Bird.  The title of his dissertation is:

    The effect of a ketogenic diet on mitochondria function in human skeletal muscle during adaptation to chronic exercise training and the potential involvement of metabolic dysregulation 


  5. OSUN Welcomes Two New Faculty

    Mar 14, 2019

    Please welcome both Dr. George Kyriazis and Dr Jiangjiang (Chris) Zhu to The Ohio State University.  Dr. Kyriazis is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Biological Chemistry and Pharmacology and Dr. Zhu is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Human Sciences. 

  6. Dr. Cruz-Monserrate awarded an NIH RO1

    Mar 5, 2019

    The NIH recently awarded an R01 grant to Zobeida Cruz-Monserrate, PhD, Assistant Professor of Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition. Her project, Role of Lipocalin 2 in Pancreatic Cancer, will provide insights into blocking Lipocalin 2 and its associated pathways to treat or prevent pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma.

    Dr. Cruz-Monserrate's lab



  7. Welcome two new OSUN faculty members

    Dec 7, 2018



    Welcome to Dr. Fred Tabung, Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Medical Oncology.  Dr. Tabung's research interests focus on how diet and lifestyle affect cancer risk and survival. 






  8. Silvia Duarte San Miguel selected as a finalist for the Millipore Sigma Life Science Award in Tumor Biology

    Dec 7, 2018

    Congratulations to Silvia Duarte San Miguel for being selected as a finalist for the Millipore Sigma Life Science Award for Tumor Biology.  As a finalist, Silvia was invited to present her work at the Life Science Award Prize Event in Darmstadt, Germany on October 22 - 23, 2018.

  9. Dr. Daniel Gallego-Perez awarded a National Institutes of Health (NIH) Directors Innovator Award

    Dec 6, 2018

    OSUN Researcher Dr. Daniel Gallego-Perez receives a new 'high risk, high rewards" NIH Director's New innovator Award for this latest research exploring how tissue nanotransfection can be used to convert skin cells into other types of cells. This innovative technology may in the future allow the rapid repair of damaged blood vessels, neurons, and other cell types, in a non invasive manner.